SECTIONS
The Power Map · No. 03 — Stargate / Abilene

The names on the paper atStargate

On January 22, 2025—the day after OpenAI and SoftBank announced the Stargate Project—six limited-liability companies (LLCs) named Abilene DC 3 through Abilene DC 8 were chartered in Texas, every one at 255 Fillmore Street, Suite 400, Denver: the address of Crusoe Energy Holdings. The Texas Comptroller’s franchise-tax rolls record the dates and the addresses; a Texas air-permit record supplies the only government sentence connecting the shells to a parent. Those numbered companies, leasing from a landlord named Lancium, LLC, now hold the county paper for the site OpenAI calls “our Stargate I site”—and no government document in the Abilene trail names OpenAI, Oracle, Crusoe, or Stargate.

What the paper does record is public money. The City of Abilene forgives 85 percent of its property tax and Taylor County 80 percent under a tax abatement (a contract forgiving a set share of property taxes for a set term), each doubled in length by a “Second Tax Abatement Agreement”—now 16 per-building agreements plus phases 9-10 and a power plant—and the Development Corporation of Abilene committed $2.5 million in water and sewer reimbursement under the codename “Project Artemis.” What the tax break is worth in dollars is not stated on this page. The contracts’ financial schedules—which list what Lancium pays the county and city each year and what it is excused from—are attachments the governments have not posted online. Until those documents surface, the value of the abatement is an open question. Every relationship on this page traces to a named public record, linked in The Record below. Verified July 30, 2026.

85% / 80%
City & county abatements, doubled
$2.5M
DCOA water/sewer reimbursement
9
Numbered site LLCs · no DC 2
$15B
Crusoe–Blue Owl joint venture
$25M
Brockman super-PAC giving, one day
1.2 GW
Planned campus load
01—The networkdrag any node · hover a link to trace it · click to pin the source
CompanyShell LLCData centerAgency / personPAC / caucusgovernment recordcompany release / reported
How to read this map

Every line on this map is a documented connection drawn from a public record—Taylor County and City of Abilene resolutions, the Development Corporation of Abilene board packet, Texas Comptroller registry and franchise-tax records, a Texas Commission on Environmental Quality permit record, Federal Election Commission receipts, Texas Ethics Commission filings, Senate lobbying disclosures, and the companies’ own releases, all verified July 30, 2026. Solid lines are contracts, charters, and filings in government records; dashed lines are attributions the record supports only through a company release or a single reported document. Dollar figures on the links are the amounts in the cited filings. The map records documented connections, not allegations. The red nodes are the shell companies—on this map, they are the story.

02—What this map meanstwo ledgers—quiet local paper, loud federal money

This map holds two ledgers, and they do not match. The local ledger is quiet: an 85 percent city and 80 percent county property-tax abatement, doubled in term by a “Second Tax Abatement Agreement,” plus $2,500,000 in water and sewer reimbursement—all of it granted to Lancium, LLC and a set of numbered limited-liability companies. No government document in the Abilene paper trail names OpenAI, Oracle, Crusoe, or Stargate. The federal ledger is loud: $25,000,000 from OpenAI’s president to two super PACs in a single day, and more than $1.2 million in 2025 lobbying fees aimed at the White House Office, the Executive Office of the President, and the Office of Science & Technology Policy.

Who it moves: Taylor County taxpayers carry the abatement, and the shell structure means the county contracted with entities whose parentage its own documents never establish. The county’s registry entry records what Abilene gets on paper—57 jobs and $4,104,000 in annual payroll against a campus its developer values at $15 billion. What the abatement is worth in forgone taxes is not verified: the dollar exhibits are not posted with the resolutions, and The Big Drop will not repeat figures it has only seen in news coverage. That gap is stated here as a gap.

What it signals: a pattern repeating in a second state. The Power Map’s first investigation documented Meta reaching Louisiana through a nameless vehicle, Laidley LLC. In Abilene, the vehicle layer is thicker—nine numbered LLCs, a landlord, and a project company with no registry record found—but the design is the same: the public money is committed locally, on paper that never carries the ultimate names, while the political money moves federally, where the names are on every receipt.

03—What each relationship meansmeaning first—the documented record sits beneath each one
DCOA → Lancium · The Codename

Before Abilene knew what was coming, it had a codename. The Development Corporation of Abilene (DCOA) signed a performance agreement paying Lancium, LLC $2,500,000 in water and sewer reimbursement for “Project Artemis”—the name in the DCOA’s own board documents. By the March 2025 amendment, the commitment had grown from 100,000 square feet and a $52.35 million minimum investment to 998,000 square feet and a $900 million minimum on roughly 875 acres.

RECORD Performance Agreement Dec 21, 2021; amended Mar 4, 2025 (board packet pp. 17, 48-52). · DCOA board packet
Abilene DC LLCs → Crusoe · The Shells

Texas Comptroller franchise-tax rolls show Abilene DC 1, LLC chartered June 12, 2024 at 211 E 7th St, Suite 620, Austin—the exact address of Crusoe Technologies LLC. Abilene DC 3 through 8, LLC were all chartered January 22, 2025—the day after the Stargate announcement—at 255 Fillmore St, Suite 400, Denver, the address of Crusoe Energy Holdings. DC 9 and 10 followed on September 23, 2025. No record of an “Abilene DC 2” was found in any of them. A Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) air-permit record makes the tie a government record: “Abilene DC 1, LLC (Abilene DC) dba Crusoe Energy Systems, LLC.” Business Insider first connected Abilene DC 1, LLC to Crusoe through state filings in January 2025; the charter dates and addresses of the full fleet—and the day-after timing—are reported here from the Comptroller’s rolls.

RECORD Comptroller franchise-tax rolls (dataset 9cir-efmm); TCEQ Reg. 177263, RN112029079. · Texas Comptroller / TCEQ
City & county → Lancium · The Deal

A tax abatement (a contract forgiving a set share of property taxes for a set term) under Texas Tax Code Chapter 312: the City of Abilene forgives 85 percent for 10 years, Taylor County 80 percent—each term doubled by a “Second Tax Abatement Agreement,” the arrangement reported as “20 years.” The original agreements date to December 2021; by August 28, 2025 they had grown to 16 per-building agreements, and in December 2025 the city added phases 9-10 plus an electricity generation plant, Abilene DC TPP, LLC. The abatement agreements are collaterally assigned to JPMorgan Chase Bank. The Abilene Reporter-News covered the December 2021 vote when it happened; The Big Drop covers what the deal turned out to be—agreements extended over four years to numbered companies whose parentage no Abilene document establishes, for a site that became OpenAI’s “Stargate I,” at a dollar value the public record still does not disclose.

RECORD City Resolutions 171-2025 and 249-2025; Comptroller Ch. 312 registry 000017852; city council agenda Jan 23, 2025. · City of Abilene / Comptroller
Blue Owl & PDI → the campus · The Landlord’s Money

The capital arrived before the name did. On October 15, 2024, Crusoe announced a $3.4 billion joint venture with “funds managed by Blue Owl’s Real Estate platform and Primary Digital Infrastructure”—the tenant identified only as “a Fortune 100 hyperscale tenant.” The second phase, announced May 21, 2025, took the joint venture to $15 billion, 1.2 gigawatts (GW), and eight buildings.

RECORD Crusoe releases Oct 15, 2024 and May 21, 2025. · Crusoe
The record’s gaps · The Absence

The absences are findings. No government document in the Abilene trail names OpenAI, Oracle, Crusoe, or “Stargate.” Blue Owl Capital’s U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) filings contain zero mentions of Abilene, Crusoe, or Stargate. No registry record of a “Stargate” legal entity was found, and the equity percentages are undisclosed. As late as March 10, 2025, Oracle’s own 8-K (a current report filed with the SEC) had chief executive Safra Catz saying “we look forward to signing our first Stargate contract”—no signed Stargate contract as of that date, seven weeks after the announcement.

RECORD Blue Owl SEC filings (searched); Oracle 8-K Mar 10, 2025; registry searches, verified Jul 30, 2026. · SEC / registries
OpenAI → Washington · The Political Money

OpenAI has no federal corporate political action committee (PAC)—a Federal Election Commission (FEC) committee search returns zero. The money moves personally: president Greg Brockman gave $12,500,000 to MAGA Inc. and $12,500,000 to Leading the Future, both dated September 12, 2025—$25 million of the $25.9 million in itemized OpenAI-employee federal giving this cycle. In Texas, by contrast, the Texas Ethics Commission (TEC) bulk export shows no contributions to Gov. Greg Abbott, Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick, or Abilene-area legislators from any Stargate principal. The Texas money on record: Lancium chief executive Michael McNamara’s $10,000 to Rep. Ken King (Republican, House District 88—the Panhandle, not Abilene), and OpenAI, L.L.C.’s $2,500 to a legislative caucus.

RECORD FEC Schedule A receipts; Senate LDA filings 2025; TEC bulk export cut Jul 30, 2026. · FEC / Senate LDA / TEC
04—Project Artemis, traced
2021-12-21  “Project Artemis”: DCOA agreement + city/county abatements with Lancium2024-10-15  Crusoe’s $3.4B joint venture; tenant “a Fortune 100 hyperscale tenant”2025-01-21/22  Stargate announced; six Abilene DC LLCs chartered the next day2025-03–08  DCOA amendment · $15B second phase · 16 per-building abatements2025-12-16  Taylor County adds phases 9–10 + power plant, 4–1

The deal is four years older than the name. In December 2021 the City of Abilene, Taylor County, and the DCOA committed the abatements and the $2.5 million reimbursement to Lancium, LLC under the codename “Project Artemis”—the joint news release promised $2.4 billion over 20 years, 57 jobs, and 200 megawatts (MW) growing past 1 GW. The name “Stargate” arrived on January 21, 2025, in an OpenAI/SoftBank announcement describing “a new company” with SoftBank, OpenAI, Oracle, and MGX as initial equity funders, SoftBank holding financial responsibility, OpenAI operational responsibility, and Masayoshi Son as chairman. The next day, six numbered LLCs were chartered at Crusoe’s Denver address.

The expansion ran through 2025 on local paper. The DCOA amended Project Artemis in March; Crusoe’s joint venture reached $15 billion in May; the city approved 16 per-building “Second Tax Abatement Agreements” in August; and in July OpenAI called Abilene “our Stargate I site,” “already up and running on Oracle Cloud Infrastructure.” The last local vote was the closest: on December 16, 2025, after four residents spoke in opposition, the Taylor County Commissioners’ Court adopted the phases 9-10 and power-plant abatements 4–1, Commissioner Kendrick against—the only recorded “no” in the four-year paper trail.

SOURCES  Joint city/DCOA/Lancium release (2021-12-21) · Crusoe releases (2024-10-15, 2025-05-21) · OpenAI/SoftBank announcement (2025-01-21) · Texas Comptroller franchise-tax rolls, dataset 9cir-efmm (charter dates) · DCOA board packet (2025-03-04) · City Resolution 171-2025 (2025-08-28) · OpenAI release (2025-07-22) · Taylor County Commissioners’ Court minutes (2025-12-16)
05—The recordevery entry below names its primary document
Incentive documents
City, county, and DCOA commitments · verified July 30, 2026
City of Abilene Resolution 171-2025
16 per-building Second Tax Abatement Agreements with Lancium, phases 1-8 · Aug 28, 2025
City of Abilene Resolution 249-2025
Phases 9-10 plus the Abilene DC TPP, LLC generation plant · Dec 4, 2025
Taylor County · Ch. 312 registry 000017852
80% county abatement · effective 2031-2044 · 57 jobs · $4,104,000 annual payroll
Taylor County Commissioners’ Court minutes
Phases 9-10 + plant adopted 4–1 (Kendrick against), four residents opposed · Dec 16, 2025
DCOA “Project Artemis” agreement
$2,500,000 water/sewer reimbursement · Dec 21, 2021; amended Mar 4, 2025 (pp. 17, 48-52)
Collateral assignment to JPMorgan Chase Bank
Abatement agreements pledged as loan collateral · city council agenda Jan 23, 2025
Joint city/DCOA/Lancium news release
$2.4B over 20 years · 57 jobs · 200 MW growing past 1 GW · Dec 21, 2021

Every incentive instrument names Lancium, LLC or the numbered Abilene DC LLCs as counterparty. The dollar exhibits to the abatement agreements are not posted with the resolutions; the abated value is therefore not stated on this page.

Registry, permit & corporate records
The paper that connects the shells to their parents · verified July 30, 2026
Taylor County Resolution 22-25
Lancium, LLC as landowner; “2025 Agreement Lessees” Abilene DC 1, LLC and Abilene DC 3-8, LLC, “for construction of up to eight data center buildings” · adopted Sep 9, 2025, Judge Phil Crowley
Texas Comptroller franchise-tax rolls
Charter dates and addresses for Abilene DC 1, 3-10, LLC · open-data dataset 9cir-efmm
TCEQ air-permit record · Reg. 177263, RN112029079
“Abilene DC 1, LLC (Abilene DC) dba Crusoe Energy Systems, LLC” — the record is in TCEQ’s Central Registry, which serves detail pages only inside a browser session; cite by registration number
OpenAI/SoftBank Stargate announcement
“A new company” · SoftBank, OpenAI, Oracle, MGX · Son chairman · Jan 21, 2025
OpenAI release · Jul 22, 2025
Abilene is “our Stargate I site,” “already up and running on Oracle Cloud Infrastructure”
Oracle 8-K · Mar 10, 2025
Safra Catz: “we look forward to signing our first Stargate contract”
Crusoe joint-venture releases
$3.4B with Blue Owl / Primary Digital Infrastructure funds (Oct 15, 2024); $15B, 1.2 GW, eight buildings (May 21, 2025)

The TCEQ permit record is the one government document tying an Abilene DC shell to Crusoe. Blue Owl Capital’s SEC filings contain zero mentions of Abilene, Crusoe, or Stargate, and no registry record of a “Stargate” legal entity was found—both stated here as findings.

Political money
FEC, Senate LDA, and TEC records · verified July 30, 2026
Greg Brockman → two super PACs
$12,500,000 to MAGA Inc. + $12,500,000 to Leading the Future, both Sep 12, 2025
Sam Altman, personal
$200,000 Harris Victory Fund · $41,300 Democratic National Committee · $3,500 Rounds for Senate (2025)
OpenAI OpCo, LLC · federal lobbying, 2025
Akin Gump $320,000 · DLA Piper $290,000 · Miller Strategies $600,000 · targets include the White House Office and both chambers
Michael McNamara → Rep. Ken King
$10,000 (2026) from Lancium’s chief executive to the Panhandle Republican (HD-88)—not an Abilene district
OpenAI, L.L.C. → Innovation & Technology Caucus
$2,500 to the Texas Legislature caucus · May 22, 2024

OpenAI has no federal corporate PAC on file. The TEC bulk export (cut Jul 30, 2026) shows no contributions to Gov. Abbott, Lt. Gov. Patrick, or Abilene-area legislators from any Stargate principal.

06—Agencies in this record (7) — the public bodies whose paper trail this page is built on
City of AbileneTaylor CountyDevelopment Corporation of Abilene (DCOA)Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ)Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsFederal Election Commission (FEC)Texas Ethics Commission (TEC)

Get in touch

Good choice…

Thanks!

I’ll be in touch as soon as I can.